Girls Aloud reunite for 10 year Anniversary!


Ten years is a long time in showbusiness, and for Girls Aloud it seems that only an anniversary celebration will do. So to mark this fantastic achievement, the girls have decided to release a new single, album and much to the delight of their fans, go on tour again. In a press gathering, all five members of the band turned up to answer questions from excited media and they told the waiting journalists that their new single, entitled Something New, will be released on 18th November, and the band will perform the track for the first time on Children In Need on 16th November.

Girls Aloud first hit the limelight when they were put together for the ITV1 talent show Popstars: The Rivals in 2002. Band members Cheryl Cole, Kimberley Walsh, Nicola Roberts, Sarah Harding and Nadine Coyle celebrated their first single success in 2002 with the track Sound Of The Underground. Cheryl Cole led her bandmates to the stage to inform waiting press members about their new plans to celebrate their tenth anniversary in the pop business. The five-piece told press that they will follow the single with an album called Ten – a collection of their songs over the last ten years as well as four new tracks – to be released on 26th November.And it seems that the band want some input from their fans as they will ask them to get involved in the making of the new album, by choosing their favourite Girls Aloud singles over the years. Fans will be given the opportunity to select from the band’s entire back catalogue, which tracks they want to appear, and the most popular ones will feature on a second disc of the album. It appears that time has been very kind to all five band members as Cheryl Cole wore a pair of skinny black leather leggings with a blue jacket, Kimberley Walsh looked stunning as she showed off her new dancers body in a leopard print two piece, Sarah Harding was bang on trend with a pair of patterned leggings with a metallic top, Nadine Coyle looked cute as with a mini dress and black leather jacket, and Nicola Roberts completed the group in a white feathered skirt and a black printed jumper.

Cheryl spoke of the reunion: “It’s incredible that we are getting to share a decade in music. If you had of asked us 10 years ago, we never would have dreamed we would be here 10 years on. We still are achieving the whole time.” She added: “It’s just fun it takes the pressure away – we get to share the responsibility of being in a pop band.” Kimberley talked about the band getting back on the road. She said: “Touring is one of the things we all enjoy the most,” with Cheryl adding: “Touring is the best thing we do full stop.” For Nadine however, it is the studio work that she is most looking forward to, as she told the media: “Coming back together and being back in the studio and having all our voices on a track together is just so amazing.” And asked whether this reunion means the girls are back for good, Nadine commented: “We will just have to wait and see how the fans react and how everything goes.”


  • 21st and 22nd February – Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
  • 25th February – Sheffield Motor Point Arena
  • 26th February – Birmingham LG Arena
  • 1st and 2nd March – London O2 Arena
  • 5th and 6th March – Manchester MEN Arena
  • 9th and 10th March – Glasgow SECC Arena
  • 19th March – Nottingham Trent FM Arena
  • 20th March – Liverpool Echo Arena

Tickets go on sale Friday 26th October at 9am from their website.

Show Comments

No Responses Yet

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.