A Short Guide On The Harry Potter Series

The Harry Potter series have been a big franchise for both movies and books.  This was created by author J.K. Rowling and

Harry Potter

Harry Potter

has been a household name for the young and old alike.  The movie adaptations to the book have started being shown on the big screens starting with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in 2001 and the last film was shown just this July 2011, ending in Part 2 of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  Even though the book is originally published in seven parts, the movie was shown in eight parts.

The Harry Potter series tells the adventure of the main character Harry and his friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley.  They are students of Hogwarts School, which teaches wizardry and magic.  The main storyline involves Harry’s adventures in trying to beat the dark magician Voldemort who wants to conquer the both the magic and non-magic world.  The story starts with Harry Potter discovering his roots as a wizard while he was living with his uncle and auntie, which are both non-magical people.  He was then invited to attend Hogwarts and learn magic and this is where most of the story takes place.  As he matures to adolescence, he has dealt with many life issues, both magical and ordinary to prepare him against his battle with Voldemort.

The first release of the Harry Potter series of books was in 1997 and has been wildly popular.  The book has also seen its share of criticisms for its dark topics, especially in its fourth book, when a character has perished at the hands of Voldemort.  As of today, the series have sold over 450 million copies all over the world and have been translated in 67 languages.  The first four tomes are the fastest selling books and have set worldwide records in sales.

The book has crossed over many different genres, from the obvious fantasy theme to coming of age.  It also has elements of mystery and romance as it entails the progression of the main characters in a very detailed manner.  According to Rowling, the main theme of the book is death, however it is still classified as children’s literature as there are other themes that surround it such as love and compassion, as well as overcoming adversity.  The Harry Potter series remains one of the most loved literary works because of its well-written and entertaining chronicles of its main character triumphing over hardships and trials, both enjoyed by children and adults alike. 

Show Comments

No Responses Yet

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.